Conway seniors recognized for academic achievement

Conway Area Chamber of Commerce Academic Signing Day 2016

Since 2009, Academic Signing Day has recognized high school seniors in Conway who have received significant academic awards and substantial scholarships. The event is organized by the Conway Area Chamber of Commerce and is presented by Acxiom.

The 28 honorees and their families were invited to attend a special ceremony Thursday, May 12, at the University of Central Arkansas. One by one, the students introduced themselves and stated where they plan to attend college, signed a placard indicating their choice, and received an award.

Academic Signing Day Class of 2016

Ann Clemmer, senior associate director of Academic Affairs at Arkansas Department of Higher Education, delivered the keynote address. Jeff Standridge, vice president of audience solutions at Acxiom, served as the master of ceremonies.

Ann Clemmer, Arkansas Department of Higher Education 

Jeff Standridge, Acxiom

Graduating seniors from Conway High School-West, St. Joseph High School, Conway Christian High School, and those home-schooled in the Conway School District were eligible to apply. This year’s honorees have maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.8 or higher on a 4.0 scale and have met at least one of the following five qualifications:

  1. the recipient of a top scholarship from the four-year accredited college or university they plan to attend;
  2. a National Merit Scholar or National Merit Finalist designation;
  3. acceptance into a U.S. Service Academy;
  4. the winner of a state or national scholarship program; and
  5. the recipient of a Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship or Governor’s Scholarship.

The Academic Signing Day Class of 2016 included 19 students from Conway High School, eight students from Conway Christian High School, and one student from St. Joseph High School:

St. Joseph High School

Tia Massa, United States Air Force Academy

Conway Christian High School

Will Callaway, University of Arkansas
Marc Cochran, Arkansas State University
Shawnell Gill, Ouachita Baptist University
David Gillespie, Harding University
Sarah Guinee, University of Central Arkansas
Katelyn Helms, Harding University
Sarah Shelton, Central Baptist College
Nathaniel Tollett, University of Central Arkansas

Conway High School

Tim Ablondi, Centre College
Ethan Beard, Southern Arkansas University
Timothy Burnett, University of Arkansas
Harrison Dawson, University of Arkansas
David Desrochers, University of Arkansas
Allison Dombek, University of Texas at Dallas
Samuel Freedle, University of Arkansas
William Freyaldenhoven, Rhodes College
Brooke Humbert, University of Central Arkansas
Arch Jones, University of Arkansas
Jonah Millirons, University of Central Arkansas
Mary Nail, Hendrix College
Austin Orvin, University of Central Arkansas
Meredith Ott, University of Arkansas
Paul Rasmussen, University of Alabama
Raymond Smith, III, Lyon College
Matthew Sweere, Baylor University
Joshua Vines, University of Arkansas
Michael Ward, University of Arkansas

Congratulations to the honorees!

Special thanks to the 2016 Academic Signing Day sponsors.

Presenting Sponsor:

Host Sponsor:
University of Central Arkansas

Gold Sponsors:
Conway Corporation
Crafton Tull
Klaasmeyer Construction
Whisinvest Realty, LLC

Silver Sponsors:
Crain Buick GMC / Crain Kia
First Security Bank
Magie Smith Charton Eye Clinic
Simmons Bank
Smith Ford
TruService Community Federal Credit Union